2018 Azalea Awards Winners

Azalea Awards Group PhotoThe Takoma Foundation wishes to congratulate the WINNERS of the 2018 Azalea Awards, announced on May 19th at the Celebrate Takoma Festival. These individuals represent the best of what Takoma has to offer, and go “above and beyond” to make a difference for their families, friends and neighbors. They are truly living up to the Takoma Foundation motto of “building bridges and changing lives.” This year, we are pleased to announce that we experienced more online voter participation than ever. Thanks to all of you who contributed to the Azalea Awards, providing affirmation and celebration for the contributions of all of our 2018 nominees.

Arts Leader (tie)

Kristen Hayes, Takoma Park Elementary
Kathie Mack and Carol Ossi, Takoma Park Craftswomen

Business Leader (tie)

D. Doley, RS Automotive
Mike Casey, VFW Post Commander


Adrian Baez, Takoma Park Middle and Montgomery Blair and Einstein High Schools, National Capital Soccer League and Takoma Soccer Camps


Kristina Anderson, Takoma Park Middle School

Green Activist

Annie Mozer, Dynamic community garden advocate


Dave Burbank, Librarian and D&D organizer

Neighborhood Volunteer

Andrew Partan, PEN neighborhood list and Takoma Park youth soccer league

School Activist (tie)

Amy Wajda, Takoma Park and Piney Branch Elementary Schools
Vanesa Pinto, New Hampshire Estates Elementary School

Takoma Spirit

Bryan Goehring and Roxanne Yamashita, Takoma Park Middle School teacher (Bryan) and parent (Roxanne)


Pat Rumbaugh, aka “The Play Lady”


To learn more about the winners and other nominees, please click here.